BRING IT las-ON-ya

The other day I was thinking to myself, “I’m tired of lasagna always being las-YAWN-ya”. I went to the grocery store and flipped the bird to all the frozen lasagna as well as all the lasagna noodles in the pasta section. Then I went home and made my own noodles, like a real man. Similar to the fettuccine noodles, the lasagna noodles were a blast to make. I listened to a bunch of nu-disco and danced in my kitchen, like a real man. I let those warlocks dry and began the filling. My sweet, sweet mother Susan gave me her recipe for the filling and a cream sauce. I prepared both with some classic thehousekitchen variations and got the whole room smelling brilliant, with notes of onions, celery, and SWAG. I was expected at Kim’s by 7, but the sauce (which was indeed boss) didn’t allow me to get over there until around 8. I assembled the lasagna and brought it over to Kim’s to bake, and after 15 minutes of baking and 15 minutes of resting, we were finally ready to dig in. Kim and Thuy made an excellent salad with strawberries and yellow peppers in it that we crunched while waiting for the lasagna. When the lasagna was ready, we served ourselves and dove right in. I am not exaggerating when I say that this lasagna was so good that it could have brought Sauron to tears (which would just be steam since he is an eye made of fire). The only thing missing was the honorable, but absent Kiko who did not participate in the lasagna eating, however she was there in our hearts.

 

 

peace ‘n luv

willie

Leave a Reply

